Commissioned by the city of Cologne/ Deutschlandfunk 2018.
Video score
LINES, INSTRUCTIONS was premiered as part of the Forum Neue Musik entitled "Echoes of 1968" on April 13, 2018 at the Chamber Music Hall of Deutschlandfunk in Cologne.
The musicians of Ensemble Ascolta use synchronized laptops to display a video clip that replaces the
conventional paper score.
The title LINES, INSTRUCTIONS refers on the one hand to the visual material used in the video score, and on the other hand to the formal processes necessary for the musicians' interpretation of the score: Through the use of so-called found footage visual material the composer as author is called into question. The score has to be interpreted by the musicians together, similar to a graphic score.
The computer takes over not only part of the role of the author, but also that of the conductor.

cast: Julian Belli, percussion/ Andrew Digby, trombone/ Florian Hölscher, piano/ Boris Müller, percussion/ Markus Schwind, trumpet/ Andreas Voss, cello/ Johannes Öllinger, guitar/ Fabian Offert, programming. 

World premiere:
April 13, 2018 as part of Forum Neue Musik, Kammermusiksaal Deutschlandfunk, Cologne.

Further performances:
03.06.2018 radio premiere of LINES, INSTRUCTIONS, Deutschlandfunk, 21.00h
12.06.2018 as part of the series "Südseite, nachts" by Musik der Jahrhunderte, Stuttgart at Theaterhaus Stuttgart

You may also like

Back to Top